Agenda

Canadian IGF Talks: Regulating Online Harms in Canada

November 17, 2021 @ 1:00PM EST
(2:00PM AST / 12:00PM CST / 11:00AM MST / 10:00AM PST


In July, the government of Canada released a consultation on a proposed regulatory framework for harmful content distributed through online services. During the election, the Liberals committed to introducing legislation based on this proposal in their first 100 days of governing. The proposal is ambitious in scope, addressing expression ranging from terrorist content to the non-consensual distribution of intimate images. It is also robust in application, envisioning sophisticated agency regulatory activity. This session will canvass perspectives on the online harms proposal emerging from civil society, academia, industry, and public safety; identify potential problems with the proposed framework; and solicit recommendations for the course Canada should follow in addressing online harms.

Speakers

Cara Zwibel, Canadian Civil Liberties Association
Diana Gheorghiu, Child Rights International Network
Jeanette Patell, Youtube
Ron Bodkin, Vector Institute

Cara Zwibel, Director of the Fundamental Freedoms Program, Canadian Civil Liberties Association

Cara was called to the Ontario bar in 2005. She has a political science degree from McGill University and law degrees from Osgoode Hall Law School (LL.B.) and New York University (LL.M.). Her work with CCLA involves providing legal opinions and research, coordinating litigation and interventions, representing CCLA before the courts, preparing submissions to legislative bodies and assisting with the CCLET’s public education work.

Diana Gheorghiu, Legal & Policy Officer at the Child Rights International Network (CRIN)

Diana is Legal and Policy Officer at the Child Rights International Network (CRIN). She works on children’s rights in the digital environment and responses to sexual violence against children. She has a BA in Law and an LLM in International Law from the University of Cambridge.

Jeanette Patell, Head of Canada Government Affairs & Public Policy, YouTube

Jeanette Patell is the Head of Government Affairs & Public Policy for YouTube in Canada. In this role, she leads YouTube’s engagement with Canadian governments on policy issues impacting YouTube’s creator and user communities. Jeanette began her career as a diplomat with Global Affairs Canada focused on international trade policy, with postings to Washington D.C. and the European Union. Prior to joining YouTube, Jeanette led government affairs for GE Canada. She is bilingual (English & French) and is a graduate of Mount Allison University with a B.A. (Hons.) in International Relations.

Ron Bodkin, VP of AI Engineering and CIO, Vector Institute

Ron Bodkin is the VP of AI Engineering and CIO at Vector Institute and is the Engineering Lead at the Schwartz Reisman Institute for Technology in Society. Ron is responsible for leading engineering teams that apply Vector’s leading AI research to industry and health problems for Canada, that develop open source software, and that establish and support world class scientific computing infrastructure to scale the adoption of beneficial AI.